News & Blog

Coin of the Year 2009/2010

Posted on Fri, 8 January 2010 by Phil Mussell - General News, Coin News

According to a Krause press release today "Ten outstanding 2008-dated coins have been honored with Coin of the Year Awards by World Coin News magazine."

An international panel of judges selected the winners from hundreds of nominated coins during a final round of balloting that concluded in late December. The awards will be presented Jan. 30, in a special ceremony at the World Money Fair in Berlin, Germany, by World Coin News executive editor David C. Harper.

"Krause Publications and World Coin News have sponsored the Coin of the Year Awards for nearly 30 years, and each year the entries get better and better," said Lisa Bellavin, Coin of the Year coordinator for KP. "This round of voting was no exception. The creativity, innovation and craftsmanship shown by mints around the world is nothing short of breathtaking, and we are pleased to honor those who continue to push coin design and manufacturing to new heights."

The winners include:

Most Historically Significant: Kazakhstan, 100 Tenge, silver, Genghis Khan

Best Contemporary Event: Israel, 10 New Shequalim, silver, Israel's 60th anniversary

Best Gold: Latvia, 20 Lati, gold, Coin of Latvia

Best Silver: Germany, 10 Euro, silver, Franz Kafka

Best Crown: Austria, 10 Euro, silver, The Abbey of Klosterneuberg

Most Popular: United States, 1 Dollar, silver, American Eagle

Best Trade: Cyprus, 2 Euro, bi-metallic, Ancient statue cross

Most Innovative: Austria, 25 Euro, silver, Fascination Light

Most Artistic: Poland, 200 Zlotych, gold, Warsaw ghetto uprising

Most Inspirational: Canada, 2,500 Dollars, gold, Towards Confederation

Voting for the overall Coin of the Year, as well as the People's Choice award, will conclude soon, with winners also unveiled at the World Money Fair in Berlin.